Shaykh Al-Albānī on How Little We Know, and an Authentic Supplication for Knowledge

Shaykh Muḥammad Nāṣir al-Dīn al-Albānī رحمه الله said:

…[A]s time goes by and my life keeps getting longer, I keep increasing in the strength of my belief in Allāh the Most High and Great’s saying:
Meaning:


“You have not been given of [Allāh’s] knowledge except a small amount.” (Al‑Isrāʾ 85)

…and [in the belief] that the more a person increases in knowledge over time, the more aware he becomes of his [own] ignorance.

And because of that it was from Allāh’s commands to His prophet ﷺ  that He said to him, teaching us [as well]:

Meaning:

“And say, my Lord increase me in knowledge.” (Ṭā Hā 114)

And for that reason, it was from his ﷺ supplications [to ask]:

اللَّهُمَّ انْفَعْنِي بِمَا عَلَّمْتَنِي، وَعَلِّمْنِي مَا يَنْفَعُنِي، وَزِدْنِي عِلْماً

“O Allāh, grant me benefit out that which You have taught me, teach me that which will be of benefit to me, and increase me in knowledge.”

Graded Hasan by Al-Albānī (Al-Silsilah al-Ṣaḥīḥah, no. 3150)

Translator:

Mikail ibn Mahboob Ariff

Source:

{Ibn Taymiyyah, Taqī al-Dīn Aḥmad ibn ʿAbd al-Ḥalīm. “Al-Kalim al-Ṭayyib. Ed. Muḥammad Nāṣir al-Dīn Al-Albānī. Riyadh: Maktabah al-Maʿārif, 2001, pp. 7-8.”}

Leave a Reply

